The Committees

The formulation of the JLUS is guided by the Policy Committee and Technical Working Group. These committees consist of community leaders, Fort Eustis personnel, federal and state agencies, local governments, and other stakeholders.  Although the Committees have separate roles and responsibilities, they will collaborate and be engaged with one another. They will serve as the liaisons to their respective stakeholder groups and will be responsible for relaying information to their organizations.

Policy Committee (PC)

The Policy Committee leads the direction of the JLUS. They are responsible for the oversight of the study as well as monitoring the implementation and adoption of policies and strategies. Upon completion, the PC will approve the final JLUS document. The PC members include decision makers, executive directors, and elected officials from the affected local governments. 

Technical Working Group (TWG)

The Technical Working Group's main objective is to provide technical expertise and feedback to the JLUS team. They will assist with addressing technical issues, will provide feedback on the drafting of the report, and assist in the development of the implementation strategies and tools. The TWG consists of technical experts from the affected local governments and organizations as well as Fort Eustis representatives, and other designated stakeholders.